Mayor & City Council

Union City, Tennessee is a Modified City Manager-Council form of Government; one of only two municipalities within the State of Tennessee to have adopted this charter. A copy of this charter can be viewed in its entirety at A copy of the municipal code can be viewed here. The City Council is made up of seven members representing five wards and two members serving at-large. Council members serve a term of four years staggering every two years with Wards 2,3,5 and one seat at-large and Wards 1 and 4 and one member at-large seat. The City Mayor is a Council member appointed by fellow Council members, serving a two-year term following each Council election.

City Council is the legislative branch of Union City. They are responsible for the adoption of all ordinances, resolutions, and policies. The Mayor serves as Chairman of all Council meetings and is the ceremonial representative of the city. A City Manager is appointed by the City Council to carry out the day to day operations of the city in accordance with the ordinances, resolutions, and policies adopted by Council. Council meetings are held in Council Chambers of City Hall at 5:30 p.m. every first and third Tuesday of each month. City Hall is located at 408 S. Depot Street, Union City, Tennessee 38261. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend any and all meetings. If special accommodations are needed to fully participate in any city meeting, please contact City Hall at 731.885.1341 for special assistance.


Terry Hailey

Graduated from Obion Central High School, 1967 and from UT Martin in 1971. President/General Manager, WENK OF UNION CITY, INC., licensee of WENK, WWKF, WTPR, WTPR-FM & WAKQ-FM in Union City, Fulton, Paris & Dover. Has worked at WENK since 1968. Speech Instructor at the University of Tennessee at Martin and previously taught at Obion Central from 1971-74. Organist at First United Methodist Church of Union City. Wife, Mitzi, and kids, Chad & Travis, both of Nashville and Bret of Chattanooga. Elected to Union City Council in 1984 and appointed as Mayor since 1988. Mayor Hailey served as past President of the Union City Jaycees, Union City Rotary Club and the Tennessee Association of Broadcasters. Currently, Mayor Hailey serves on the Perpetual Care Cemetery Board, Obion County Industrial Development Corporation Board of Directors, Obion County Joint Economic Development Council, Obion County Fair Association, and Discovery Park of America Board of Directors.

Mayor Pro-Term (Ward 1)

Danny Leggett

Married to Sybil and has one daughter, Danielle. Mr. Leggett is a native of Obion County and a resident of Union City since 1983 serving as a City Councilman since August 2006. He has attended Obion County Central High School and the University of Tennessee at Martin. Danny is currently employed at Benoist Bros. in Union City. The family is a member of the First Baptist Church in Union City. Mr. Leggett was a previous member of the Union City Jaycees where he served as President and is currently serving as Vice Chairman of the Obion County Crime Stoppers.

Councilman (At Large)

Randy Barnes

Elected in 2016, Mr. Barnes has been a resident of Union City since 1975. A graduate of UT Martin with both a BS and MS degree. Retired after 28 years as an educator, administrator, and coach at Union City High School. Following retirement, Mr. Barnes spent eight years at UT Martin as Director of Football Operations and three years in insurance business in Obion County. He is a member of UCHS, UTM, and the TSSAA Hall of Fame. In 2013, the Union City Board of Education dedicated the football field in his honor. He is a past President of the Tennessee Athletic Coaches Assn as well as having received a Distinguished Service Award from the TSSAA. He is a past President of Obion County UT Alumni Assn. He is a past President and Paul Harris Fellow Award recipient of the Union City Rotary Club. He also chairs the Union City Rotary Relay committee. He is a member of the First United Methodist Church in Union City where he teaches an adult Sunday school class and has chaired the Pastor Parrish Committee. Wife, Sharon, is retired after 41 years of teaching in the Union City School system. They have two children and three grandchildren. David and Anna Laura, are both graduates of Union City Schools and reside in Jackson, Tennessee.

Councilwoman (Ward 2)

Katie Keathley

Daughter of Barry and Janet Keathley of Union City. She is a 2006 graduate of Union City High School and a 2010 graduate from the UT Martin. Past employment includes Membership Director at the Obion County Chamber of Commerce. Currently, she is working as an Independent Contractor for Union City Electric System where she is working as the Sales and Marketing Coordinator. Past accomplishments include 2014 graduate of the Adult Leadership Obion County, 2014 graduate of Tennessee Chamber of Commerce Executives and a 2015 graduate from WestStar Leadership. Currently, she serves as president of the Union City J’Cettes and Main Street Union City. Ms. Keathley also serves as the Publicity Chairman of the Hometown Walk of Hope and is a member of the CornFest Board, Chimes for Charity, Adult Leadership Obion County, and a representative for the Obion County WestStar Alumni Council. She is a lifetime member of Second Baptist Church.

Councilwoman (Ward 3)

Dianne Eskew

A life long resident of Union City, Diane is married to Larry and has two children, five grandchildren. Retired from Baptist Medical Center in Union City following 30 years of employment. Currently, Diane is employed as a nurse for Dr. James C. Hall, Cardiologist. She is a member of Brown’s Chapel AME Church and serves as church secretary as well as a member of the Usher Board and Steward and Stewardess Board. Mrs. Eskew is the first black female to be elected to the Union City Council and has served since 2000.

Councilman (Ward 4)

Frank D Tucker

Born and raised in Obion County and lives at his present residence since 1968. Mr. Tucker served in the U.S. Army and retired from Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company with 31 years of employment. Married to Jo Ann since 1966, they have two sons and three grandchildren. Frank attends Calvary Baptist Church where he teaches Sunday school, serves as a Deacon for 28 years and Treasurer for 23 years.

Councilman (Ward 5)

Jim Douglas

A Union City native and graduate of Union City High School as well as The University of Tennessee at Martin with his B.S. in Business Administration. He was previously employed in the medical sales field and since 2003 has been with Fuller Partners Real Estate in Union City as an affiliate broker representing commercial, farm and residential properties. Mr. Douglas was previously appointed to fill a vacancy in Ward 1 of the council serving from 2005-2006 and elected again representing Ward 5 in 2012. He is a former member of the Union City Jaycees, past member of the board of The United Way of Obion County having served as Drive Chairman, and served as President of Main Street, Inc. in Union City. He is currently a member of the Union City Rotary Club, serves on the Industrial Development Board of Obion County and is a member of the TN Association of Realtors, and the Reelfoot Regional Association of Realtors with the position of 2014 Director.